On Saturday 8th June 2013 Hawarden Community Council officially opened its newly created allotment site on land off Upper Aston Hall Lane, Hawarden.

The allotment site was officially opened by Hawarden Community Council’s Chair, Councillor Judith Hough who expressed her delight that the Council had been able to provide a first class allotment site for residents of the Hawarden Community Council area.

The site is fully tenanted by residents of the Hawarden Community Council area who were given access to their plots on 9 May 2013.

An Allotment Holders Association has been formed and six members have been elected to form a Committee to assist the Council in the planning of the site and obtaining grants. The Allotment Holders Association will play a key role in managing the site.

The following people are members of the Allotment Holders Association Committee:

Kevin Oakland - Chair
Diane Harris - Secretary
Satya Schofield - Treasurer
Kevin Jones - Committee Member
Terry Harper - Committee Member